Nepal named squad for ACC U-16 cricket team - Cricket

Nepal named squad for ACC U-16 cricket team

18 April 2019 Kathmandu – Nepal has impressed international sporting events by performing well during various cricketing events in recent years. As Defending champion, Nepal on Wednesday announced a 14-member squad for the ACC U-16 Eastern Region cricket tournament slated for April 20-28 in Chaingmai, Thailand.


Bishal Bikram KC will lead the Nepali team that also includes Asish Bhattarai, Prashant Mahat, Arjun Kumal, Deepak Bohara, Suwash Ayer, Nikhil Kumar Singh, Bishal Kumar Patel, Krish Karki, Tilak Raj Bhandari, Ramesh Kurmi, Rohan Dudhraj BK, and Prashant Singh Shushant Thapa. Abhishek Gautam, Parshuram Yadav, Arbaaz Ansari, and Bibek Darasi were named in the reserve pool. Basant Shahi is the team coach and Sudeep Sharma the manager. Physiotherapist Dinesh Bhatta will also accompany the team, which departs to Thailand on Thursday.

Nepal is pitted in Group ‘A’ with Malaysia, Thailand, and Myanmar. Singapore, Hong Kong, China, and Bhutan are in Group ‘B’. Nepal opens their title defense with a match against Myanmar on April 20 before taking on Malaysia on April 24 and Thailand the next day. The top two teams from each pool will qualify for the semi-finals.

Nepal clinched the ACC U-16 Eastern Region title defeating Singapore by 71 runs on December 17, 2017. Rit Gautam also became the first Nepali cricketer to hit a century at the ACC U-16 tournament when he scored an unbeaten 106 against Myanmar during the league stage on December 14, 2017.